From Charak Samhita
Jump to navigation Jump to search

The word 'Veda' means "to know". It denotes the subject of the Vedas is Knowledge. Ayurveda is knowledge of life.

There are four Vedas as compiled by the Great Rishi Veda Vyasa :

  1. The Rigveda
  2. The Yajurveda
  3. The Samaveda
  4. The Atharvaveda

Ayurveda is originated from the Atharvaveda. [Cha.Sa. Sutra Sthana 30/21]

More information