From Charak Samhita
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Meaning = Season. The characteristics of change in surroundings depend upon the position of the Sun with respect to earth. Change in temperature, humidity, air pressure are observed in the surroundings. These changes in turn affect human biology.

In Indian Subcontinent, six seasons are observed:

  1. Grishma (summer)
  2. Varsha (monsoon)
  3. Sharada (autumn)
  4. Hemanta (early winter)
  5. Shishira (late winter)
  6. Vasanta (spring)

More information